Yesterday we got a couple inches of snow here in Northern Virginia, which got me excited for the sunrise today.

I woke up before 6AM, rolled out of bed and put on my shoes, without socks like I normally wear them (they’re boat shoes, so it makes sense). I grabbed my Canon, with wide angle Tokina lens attached, and headed out the door.

When I arrived at Manassas National Battlefield Park, I pulled out my camera and got to work. As I moved around the Stone House, my shoes became wet, and so did my feet. At about 27 degrees outside, my wet feet began to freeze to the bottom of my shoes. As I tried to lift my feet I could literally feel the skin pulling on the bottom of my shoes. “Let’s not do that right now”, I thought.

I stayed for a while longer and eventually couldn’t feel my toes or fingers, and controlling my camera became difficult. I had to delete old pictures from my SD card to free up space while I shot in AEB, and once that became next to impossible and I really couldn’t feel my fingers, I decided to call it quits and head to work.

All is good, everything warmed up and is functioning properly. I haven’t edited any of the camera images just yet, but here’s an iPhone shot that I grabbed:

Worth it? Worth it.

Leave a comment